SEG1
hp

    

http://static.www.odcdn.com/images/us/od/lb_loading.gif
od
Sauder® Heritage Hill Double-Pedestal Desk, 64 3/4"W, Classic Cherry
Click to View Gallery
This item is in your cart

Sauder® Heritage Hill Double-Pedestal Desk, 64 3/4"W, Classic Cherry

Item # 576868 OfficeMax # 20983946
  • Desktop surface is scratch and stain resistant for long-lasting durability.
  • Desk features a classic cherry color with a black melamine inlay.
Your Price
$299.99 $299.99
/ each
  • Quantity

In Stock

Delivery date provided at checkout

Delivery fee may apply

Free in store pickup 

Sold in stores Check your store availablity
Pricing, Assortment and Availability

Classic Cherry laminate and colonial brass hardware create a warm, inviting look. Assembly required. Each piece is sold individually.
  • Desktop surface is scratch and stain resistant for long-lasting durability. 
  • Desk features a classic cherry color with a black melamine inlay. 
  • Grommet in desktop for cable management. 
  • Combine with other Heritage Hill Collection pieces to expand your personal office. 

Back to Menu

Item # 576868 
Manufacturer # 402159  
component type computer desk
collection name Heritage Hill
furniture style traditional
brand name Sauder
dimensions 30 1/8"H x 64 3/4"W x 30"D
furniture color Classic Cherry
construction engineered wood
assembly required yes
manufacturer Sauder
warranty length 5-year limited

Back to Menu

Rated 4.3 out of 5�by 227 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5�by Sauder Double Pedestal Executive Desk This review is for the Sauder Heritage Hill Classic Cherry Double-Pedestal Desk. Sauder #402159. Office Depot #576868. Called an "Executive Desk" on instructions and on the Sauder website. This is an awesome desk. Very large and sturdy and heavy. There are three file drawers and two other smaller drawers plus a keyboard tray that can be used as a drawer if you don't use it for a keyboard. The top has a melamine insert #the wood border is about 3 inches wide#. The file drawers have full-extension slides and move very smoothly. Since some of the reviews of this desk are a little dated #Sauder has been making this desk for a LONG time#, I thought I'd update some things based on my recent purchase. This review is for a desk purchased at Office Depot on May 19, 2015. - This desk has three file drawers - two on the left, one on the right - and two smaller drawers above the file drawer on the right. There are various other models that have different numbers of drawers and other features. Check the description closely. BTW - I don't advise putting a desktop computer in the enclosed storage area of one of the "Computer" versions of this desk. My wife had a desk like that and we took the door off the front to provide ventilation. - It is what it is. Particle board and paper veneer - it's pretty thick paper but it is easy to scratch. This is not a desk for a CEO of a billion dollar company - at least not for the office at work. But for the average home office or just a desk for your computer, it is excellent. Despite the particle board, once assembled it is rock solid. One caution - hold off installing the "Modesty" panel and the top until you can do so in its final location. Moving this monster after it's assembled takes some muscle. You probably have to take the top off to get it through a standard-width interior door. - Take your time and read all the instructions BEFORE proceding. Sauder has vastly improved the manufacturing, packaging and instructions for their products from the last project I built years ago. This one was all very straight-forward - although I would like to see a caution for the dowels - see below. It took me about 5-6 hours and a little help at the end to complete the assembly but I took my time and followed the "measure twice, cut once" philosophy. I dry-fitted everything before gluing and screwing. All of the parts except glue #see below# were there. I had to use one of the "spare" screws because one of the screwhead slots wasn't milled properly. - Keyboard drawer - has a drawer back and latches on the front to keep the front of the drawer up. There are latches on both sides #right and left# of the drawer front that you have to release to lay it down to use it as a keyboard tray. So there's no problem using it for a drawer instead of a keyboard tray if you want. You might need a drawer organizer. I don't know if this applies to the keyboard drawer of other models but it does to the one I bought - Sauder model 402159, manufacture date 01/2015. - Dowels - one of the reviewers complained about the dowels pushing through the top of the desk when the top was secured. I made this same mistake long ago on a different project. During assembly of this desk, I dry-fitted everything to make sure the dowels weren't bottoming out in the mating hole and trimmed off the end of the dowel if necessary. I had to do this for about half of the dowels. So it is a good idea to have a small saw around during assembly. DO NOT FORCE THE DOWELS if they bottom out in the mating piece. They will push through or blow out the hole and damage the piece. - I recommend NOT gluing the dowels on the Modesty panel to the pedestals. You can go ahead and glue the dowels into the Modesty panel but do NOT glue the other end that goes into the pedestal. If you're concerned about the strength of the connection, pre-drill an extra hole next to each of the dowels and use drywall screws to secure the Modesty panel to the pedestals - this would take four drywalls screws total. The reason - if you're ever going to move this desk, you'll need to remove the top. That leaves the two pedestals connected by the Modesty panel. I don't see this surviving a move unless you are very careful. You would be better off disconnecting the two pedestals from the Modesty panel and moving them individually, then reassemble the pedestals, Modesty panel and top in the new location. I would like to see this change made to Sauder's setup and instructions. Don't glue the desktop down either - the instructions do NOT have you gluing the top down so follow them. - Before securing the desktop, lay out the pedestals connected by the Modesty panel. Measure the width at the back and the front to get them lined up. If you have it all lined up before lowering the desktop, it will fall into place pretty easily. I was expecting this to be a tough job but the top just fell into place! - Drawer bottoms - pretty flimsy in my opinion. Seem like thick cardboard, not wood. They are fine for the small drawers and fine for the file drawers if you're just hanging files in them. If you plan to put heavy stuff in the any of the drawers, I would reinforce the bottoms with some plywood or cross-braces otherwise they might sag or blow out over time. - Assembly - the instructions say all you need are a phillips screwdriver and a hammer. OK, if you have strong wrists and a lot of stamina. Use a power screwdriver but don't over-tighten the screws. I used a small hacksaw for trimming the dowels when necessary. I also recommend using carpenter's glue instead of the stuff Sauder supplies - which is barely enough glue to complete the job. Why they can't supply a bit more so you don't feel like you're "rationing" it is beyond me. Come on - give me 50 cents worth of more glue for a $300 desk!! Overall, I'm very happy with the desk and the assembly. I recommend it. May 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5�by Quick and easy purchase I ordered a desk and it came within a few days. I wasn't expecting it to be delivered that quickly. I had to assemble the desk and there seemed to be over 100 pieces but I enjoy putting things together like that. All of the parts were there which is a definite plus too! May 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5�by Lovely desk Love this product. The instructions were very well laid out. The parts were inside a pouch and # by steps to follow. Putting it together by myself took right at 6 hours...Very sturdy and looks lovely in my new office space. May 25, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5�by Nice Looking The was fairly easy to assemble, as the packets of screws, cams, etc. were clearly labeled. The desk itself is a 4.5 star, rather than a 5, because there was a defect not he paint, and I gave it a 3 overall, because no matter how much we tried, two of the drawers would not fit properly. I have to lift the front desktop and then push in the small drawer on the right side. Also, lower left drawer does not slide properly. All in all, I have received compliments on the desk's appearance, and it looks great in my office. May 25, 2015
  • 2015-05-29T13:28:01.747-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_227, tr_227
  • loc_en_US, sid_576868, prod, sort_default
2 3 4 5 ... 57 next>>

Back to Menu

(38 Qs�:�96 As)

Product Q&A

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
« Back
 
 
Gender:�Male
Age:�55 to 64
7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
extra
clinto iowa
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes0No0

Answers

Answer:�
There is no compartment to hold the CPU. All drawers shown are functional use drawers for storage of files only. The center drawer does pull out and the face will flop down so that you can place your keyboard in it.
Gender:�Male
Age:�45 to 54
3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
MarkD
Pasadena, MD
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes2No0

Answer:�
There is no CPU compartment. (Probably a good idea since CPUs generate quite a lot of heat, typically.)
Gender:�Male
Age:�65 or over
4 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
BillR
Fountain Valley, CA, USA
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes2No0

Answer:�
The desk as shown with your question is not really advertised officially as a computer desk and does not appear to have a dedicated space for a computer tower at all but it just may fit well on the floor underneath the middle section of this desk or you could just sit it next to the desk. I'm not a fan of desks that house computer towers because they usually don't have enough ventilation for a computer which is very important for a computer to operate at maximum capacity which is why computers have fans. If the air can't circulate well your computer can overheat and maybe even possibly cause an electrical fire.
Gender:�Female
Age:�45 to 54
4 months, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
cabinfever
Detroit
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes2No0

Answer:�
There is no compartment for the CPU. It has file drawers (two on the left, one on the bottom right) and two small drawers above the file drawer on the right.
Gender:�Male
Age:�45 to 54
6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Dan
Rock Spring, GA, USA
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes4No0

Answer:�
25 inches
Gender:�Male
Age:�45 to 54
6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
ace518
Bartlett, IL, USA
-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes1No2

Best answer
Answer:�
The Sauder� Heritage Hill Double-Pedestal Desk includes features three file drawers, two small drawers and a flip-down slide-out keyboard/mouse shelf. The desk does not include a compartment for a CPU tower.
6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
SauderSupportTeam
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes7No0
Gender:�Female
Age:�55 to 64
6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Pati
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes0No0

Answers

Best answer
Answer:�
Yes, it has a very nice finish all around. It is suitable to place in the center of a room as pictured and looks great from all angles.
Gender:�Female
Age:�65 or over
4 months, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
bluetincup
Maine
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes2No1

Answer:�
Yes. It was a surprise to me, and I almost re-arranged my home office so the back side could be visible, because it looks so good!
Gender:�Male
Age:�45 to 54
6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Dan
Rock Spring, GA, USA
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes1No0

Answer:�
Yes.
We have it sitting in the center of the room and love the view.
Gender:�Male
Age:�65 or over
6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Poppa
Saint Marys, GA
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes1No0

Answer:�
The back of the Sauder� Heritage Hill Double-Pedestal Desk is finished.
6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
SauderSupportTeam
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes0No0

Answer:�
Yes, it is finished on the back side. It looks great.
Gender:�Female
Age:�35 to 44
6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
lolly521
Cleveland, TX, USA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes0No0

Answer:�
yes
Gender:�Male
Age:�45 to 54
6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
ace518
Bartlett, IL, USA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes0No0
Gender:�Male
Age:�65 or over
2 years, 6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Chuck
Midlothian, VA
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes0No0

Answers

Answer:�
It is very heavy but it can be moved with strategically placed sliders. We had to do this when we had a new floor put in.
Gender:�Female
Age:�45 to 54
4 months, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
cabinfever
Detroit, MI, USA
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes0No1

Answer:�
My question is how heavy is the desk??? I need to know in order to get someone to pick it up for me.
Gender:�Female
Age:�65 or over
6 months ago
Customer avatar
by
pittipat
Florida
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes0No1

Best answer
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Answer:�
VERY! Assemble it where you are going to use it and position it before adding all the drawers. It's probably 200lbs all assembled (press board is heavy). But, it is well made and sturdy so worth dealing with the weight unless you have to move it after assembly. I suspect it really can't be moved once assembled unless you took it almost completely apart.
2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
tom4416
Tucson, AZ
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes7No0

Answer:�
The desk weighs about 180 pounds when assembled
Gender:�Male
Age:�65 or over
2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Don
Livingston, TX 77351, USA
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes6No0
10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Chris
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes0No0

Answers

Answer:�
You will be opening the box anyway to assemble the desk so rather than possibly injuring your back trying to carry the box anywhere (because it is super heavy), open it up and take it where you need it in piece's. I've done this with a few pieces of unassembled furniture and it worked very well. Especially if you have back issues it pays to use common sense.
Gender:�Female
Age:�45 to 54
4 months, 3 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
cabinfever
Detroit, MI, USA
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes0No1

Answer:�
We received our desk in one very (long) heavy box.
Gender:�Female
Age:�45 to 54
8 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Kathi
Northern California
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes0No0

Answer:�
it comes in one box. It is very heavy. it took three of us to take it to first floor
Gender:�Male
Age:�25 to 34
9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Vineet
Suwanee, GA, USA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes0No0

Best answer
Answer:�
This item came in one box and it was heavy. However the delivery guy brought it to a location in my house where I didn't have to move it too much. You will need an extra person or a dolly to move it as the box was large.
Gender:�Female
Age:�25 to 34
10 months ago
Customer avatar
by
MistieAnn
Phoenix, AZ
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes1No0
Gender:�Female
Age:�65 or over
3 months, 2 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
Snoopy
Minnesota
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes0No0

Answers

Answer:�
28 inches wide. 10 3/4 inches above floor. The space between the pedestals is slightly larger but I gave the width between the trim pieces that go around the base at the bottom.
Gender:�Male
Age:�55 to 64
2 days ago
Customer avatar
by
MATBlue
Saint Louis, MO, USA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes0No0

Answer:�
10 1/2 inches from the floor to the bottom of the back covering.
2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
peripatetic
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes0No1

Answer:�
11"H, 30"W, 7" Deep
Gender:�Male
Age:�35 to 44
3 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
ACNCHAMP
Detroit, MI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes0No0

Best answer
Answer:�
The dimensions of the space below the modesty panel on the back of the executive desk are 9 3/4" h. x 29 3/8" w.
3 months, 2 weeks ago
Customer avatar
by
SauderSupportTeam
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes1No0
Gender:�Male
Age:�65 or over
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Art
Edison, NJ, USA
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes0No0

Answers

Answer:�
Yes
Gender:�Male
Age:�65 or over
2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Don
Livingston, TX 77351, USA
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes3No0

Answer:�
This design is for routing cables in a cleaner way. If you have a computer monitor, or another plugin item it can be handy.
Gender:�Male
Age:�55 to 64
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Panther57
Port Richey, Fl
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes4No0

Best answer
Answer:�
Yes. it has a wide enough hole which is black in color, so it matches the top of the desk. it all had a rim and a cover. Class act.
Gender:�Male
Age:�18 to 24
2 years, 7 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Robert
Florida
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes7No0
2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
zanky
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes0No0

Answers

Answer:�
It can be. There is a hole to route your cord thru in the back of the drawer, and the face folds down magnetically. BUT...the magnets on the face are fairly strong and will work just fine as a regular drawer as well!
Gender:�Male
Age:�45 to 54
2 years, 3 months ago
Customer avatar
by
BigKid250
Lexington Park, MD, USA
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes4No0

Best answer
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Answer:�
Yes, but easy to convert to a permanent drawer front with a few L brackets from your hardware store and a drawer organizer from Office Depot.
2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
tom4416
Tucson, AZ
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes5No0

Answer:�
The center drawer on the Sauder� Heritage Hill Double-Pedestal Desk has a flip-down drawer front that reveals slide-out keyboard shelf.
2 years, 5 months ago
Customer avatar
by
SauderSupportTeam
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes4No1
Gender:�Female
Age:�35 to 44
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
LPhil
Portland
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes0No0

Answers

Best answer
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Answer:�
No it is not. This Double-Pedestal Desk contains 2 double height drawers on the left side, and one double height drawer on the bottom right side. Then you have 2 single height drawers on the top right. Finally, a middle drawer for a keyboard. However, the Sauder Heritage Hill Computer Credenza will have a space for a CPU Tower on the right hand side.
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
CalBerkeleyAlumni
+14points
14out of 14found this answer helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes14No0

Answer:�
No sir. There are 3 hanging folder drawers (2 on the left and 1 on the bottom right) All 3 will accomodate legal size hanging folders as well.
Gender:�Male
Age:�45 to 54
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
BigKid250
Lexington Park, MD
+8points
8out of 8found this answer helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes8No0

Answer:�
The right pedestal of theSauder� Heritage Hill Double-Pedestal Desk has two small drawers and a bottom file drawer.
2 years, 4 months ago
Customer avatar
by
SauderSupportTeam
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes4No0
In the instructions it shows a power drill with a cross on it obviously meaning not to use one. What's wrong if I want to use one to screw the peices in? It will make it alot faster than hand tightening.
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Fred1981
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes0No0

Answers

Best answer
Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
Answer:�
The reason why they do not recommend using a power drill is because you can over tighten the screws. Since this product uses particle board (pressed wood) and not genuine wood, it could open and separate and weaken the integrity of the furniture once any weight is placed on it. On the other hand, using a manual screwdriver gives you better control and alleviates any headaches that might occur in assembly.
2 years, 1 month ago
Customer avatar
by
CalBerkeleyAlumni
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes3No0

Answer:�
You can if it is on a very very low setting.
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
DeeH
Dillon, SC
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes1No0

Answer:�
Yes you can use a drill. Just be careful not to have the torque up too high so as to damage the press wood.
Gender:�Male
Age:�45 to 54
2 years, 2 months ago
Customer avatar
by
Thor
Washington, DC, USA
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes1No0
Gender:�Male
9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
rbunner
georgia
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes0No0

Answers

Answer:�
I was able to put it in the backend of my Toyota Highlander SUV with the back seats put down. Box is about 68' long xx 32" wide x about 6" high. Box weighs around 170 lbs. Office Depot employees were glad to load it for me.

Cut the box open and removed the pieces to unload from car.
Gender:�Male
Age:�55 to 64
3 months, 1 week ago
Customer avatar
by
4GSR
Victoria, TX, USA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes0No0

Answer:�
It was about 18 x 6 x 74
9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
SamanthaR
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes0No0

Best answer
Answer:�
The carton dimensions are 72.126 x 24.500 x 5.252.
9 months ago
Customer avatar
by
SauderSupportTeam
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Was this answer helpful?Yes2No0
  • 2015-05-29T13:35:47.432-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_576868, prod, sort_default
2 next>>
  • 2015-05-29T13:35:47.438-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvqa, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers
  • loc_en_US, sid_576868, prod, sort_default
2 next>>

Back to Menu

Back To Top